Your BT Broadband and BT Infinity service comes with our best-ever security packages to help protect you and your computer. We're always working to keep your protection up to date as new threats emerge.

Automatic wireless security

To help stop unauthorised users accessing your wireless network, your BT Business Hub 3 uses WPA (Wi-Fi Protected Access) wireless security, which replaces the older WEP (Wired Equivalent Protocol) security.

Some older wireless equipment can't use the more secure WPA (they don't 'support' the technology). We suggest you check with the manufacturer of your computer and devices to check if they support WPA, and, if it doesn't, find out if you can get a software update. If no updates are available, you may want to consider getting a more modern device that supports WPA so your network is more secure. Otherwise, you may have to follow our instructions to switch your wireless security to WEP.

If you decide to switch your network over to WEP, there are some things you can do to improve your online security.

Other ways to improve your online security

Keep your Business Hub turned on
Please make sure you keep your Hub switched on at all times, including overnight, so that we can send the latest security updates to it as they become available. The BT Business Hub 3 has a Power Save feature that reduces energy consumption when it's not being used.
What is BT Power Save?

Check security certificates
Don't ignore 'invalid security certificate' messages on websites.

Surf safely
Be wary of unknown websites and emails from unknown sources. Take these measures if possible:

  • Don't go to websites that appear through unsolicited (spam) email or postings in areas such as message boards or 'instant message' conversations, without first considering what may be at the other end.
  • Be careful if you get any messages from an institution (such as your bank) asking you to give personal details online. You may get a false warning telling you about unusual activity on your account (such as unauthorised payments from your account, or unexpected use) combined with a threat to close your account unless you confirm your details online. You should not disclose any details online, and instead contact the company by phone to ask them about the message you've received.
    If you can only contact the company online, use a verifiable email address from the company's website (type it yourself into your browser). Do not use any links contained in the original email, and delete it if it's suspicious.
  • Make sure you type website addresses accurately into your web browser. Inappropriate and malicious websites often have addresses that can be accidentally visited due to a typing error.

Artboard 1 copy 2 Need more help?

Contact us