How do I deactivate email accounts?

We're making some improvements to our Manage services website that'll make it easier to use. We've started to move customers to the new site but it's going to take a while until we move everyone over.  In the meantime, we're using two different sets of answers to some of our Frequently Asked Questions. This isn't ideal, we know.

To make sure you get the right answer to your question, we first need to check which Manage services website you're on.

Which Manage services website am I on?

  1. Sign in to Manage services
  2. Take a look at the screen you see after you've signed in
  3. Click on the image below that matches your actual Manage services screen (the new one has a purple right hand column titled Hello followed by your name)

We'll then show you the right answer to your question.

Click on the image above which is closest to the site you see after signing in. More help will then appear here.

Deactivating email accounts will delete ALL emails and data associated with the deactivated user on Office 365. Before proceeding ensure you have a backup of any emails, calendar information and stored documents as they cannot be recovered once the email account has been deactivated.

You can deactivate an account by following these steps:

  1. As this will delete ALL emails stored on your server, ensure you have a backup of any emails you need as they cannot be recovered once the email account has been deactivated. We've covered how to do this in this article.
  2. Sign in to Manage services.
  3. Under Email select Review and manage your email account(s).
  4. On the next page click on the email address you want to change.
  5. Select De-activate mailbox and follow the prompts.
  6. Repeat for all email addresses/users you need to deactivate.

Deactivating email accounts will delete ALL emails and data associated with the deactivated user on Office 365. Before proceeding ensure you have a backup of any emails, calendar information and stored documents as they cannot be recovered once the email account has been deactivated.

You can deactivate an account by following these steps:

  1. As this will delete ALL emails stored on your server, ensure you have a backup of any emails you need as they cannot be recovered once the email account has been deactivated. We've covered how to do this in this article.
  2. Sign in to Manage services.
  3. Scroll down to Manage email accounts. To locate the email address you'll need to know what licence it's using.
  4. Look under Product list and click Manage next to the licence for the email address you want to change. If you don't know which licence its using try each one in turn until you find the email address you're looking for.
  5. Select the email address and click on Deactivate.
  6. Follow the on screen prompts.
 

Artboard 1 copy 2 Need more help?


 
Contact us