If you use email software (such as Microsoft Outlook) and find that the mailbox on the server fills up, the software can be set up to stop a copy of emails being left on the server, or reducing the amount of time they are stored. Your emails will be stored on your PC unless they are manually deleted but do remember to regularly backup your computer to avoid the risk of losing emails.

To change the settings in Outlook 2007 or 2010:

  1. In the Tools menu (or File tab in 2010), click Account Settings.

  2. Under Name, select the POP3 e-mail account that you want to change, and then click Change.
  3. Click More Settings.
  4. Click the Advanced tab, and then under Delivery, remove the tick from the Leave a copy of messages on the server check box.


    "Remove from server after XX days" doesn't delete messages from your computer, only from the email server. This is the same for "Remove from server when deleted from Deleted Items".
  5. Click Ok, Next and Finish.
  6. Finally shut down and restart Outlook for the changes to take effect.

Some email software doesn't support automatic removal of messages from the server; in this case, you must sign in to webmail and manually delete the emails.

To do this:

  1. Sign in to webmail using the correct account details for the affected mailbox.

    If you want to delete all the emails from your inbox and deleted items folder, you can right click on the inbox and select empty and then also do the same on deleted items. Please note that the inbox, deleted and sent boxes are included in your mailbox size. Also, if you need to keep a copy of your email they must be downloaded to your email software before emptying your mailbox.
  2. Now restart your email software which should work once your mailbox has been emptied.

Artboard 1 copy 2 Need more help?

Contact us